Becoming Redeemed

Ephesians 1:7

I am working through a study of Ruth right now with a group of lovely ladies on Facebook. Today’s focus is on Ruth 3:8-9 which says:

In the middle of the night the man was startled and he turned over, and found a woman lying at his feet. So he said, “Who are you?” And she answered, “I am Ruth your maid. Spread the hem of your garment over me, for you are a close relative and redeemer.”

The book of Ruth is a beautiful story of love and redemption, if you have never read it, I highly recommend doing so (here’s the chapters: 1, 2, 3, and 4) – and it’s a short book, with only 4 chapters!

But, today’s verses got me thinking about the word redeemer and what it means to me as a Christian. So, I looked it up. The definition from Merriam-Webster states the following:

REDEEMER

a person who redeems someone or something

REDEEM

to compensate for the faults or bad aspects of (something); gain or regain possession of (something) in exchange for payment

When I dug a little deeper into what redeem, or redeemer, or redemption means from a biblical standpoint, I have to say that I was extremely humbled. Here’s an excerpt:

“the metaphor of redemption includes the ideas of loosing from a bond, setting free from captivity or slavery, buying back something lost or sold, exchanging something in one’s possession for something possessed by another, and ransoming.” – From BibleStudyTools

I was humbled because I pictured myself as the captive, the slave, the “thing” that was lost or sold that Jesus had to buy back. And the only thing He could offer was His own life.

Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends. – John 15:13

It wasn’t about what I deserved or what I had done to earn His redemption. It was simply because it was what God had planned because of His love for His children.

In that same way, Ruth has someone who can save her from the grasps of poverty that she and her mother-in-law are facing as widows. In the verses leading up to the ones above, Ruth is given instructions by her mother-in-law which she follows. However, in order to do that, she must humble herself and come under the protection of the one who could redeem them, the one who could protect them. His name was Boaz.

Am I doing the same in my daily life? Am I humbling myself under the protection of the One who can redeem me…the One who has already paid the price to set me free from the captivity of sin?

Thank You, Father, for sending Your Son to redeem Your people. Thank You for setting us free from the bond, the captivity, the slavery of sin. Thank You for Your incalculable sacrifice in exchange for our freedom from the grasp of the devil. Though I still may stumble, You are always there to pick me back up again. Thank You for Your grace which is new every morning. Thank You for continuing to lead me to fulfill the plan You have created for my life. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Let’s walk together this week, humbling ourselves under the wings of our Redeemer…focusing on His goodness and mercy…walking out His example of love to those we come in contact with.

Until next time…

1 Corinthians 16:14

One thought on “Becoming Redeemed

  1. Pingback: The Journey – Week 7 – Becoming A Florida Mama

Leave a Reply

