Waiting…Waiting…Waiting…

My husband and I have a running joke that every time I go to the doctor, they “stick me.” With going through this journey of infertility, whenever I go to the doctor, I am almost 100% certain that they are going to find some reason to draw blood.

Most recently, with deciding to move forward with IVF, the fertility clinic wanted us to do a whole battery of tests, including some genetic testing. Well, everything came back normal except for 2 things. My prolactin was high (which means I have to get “stuck” again to be retested), and I came back as positive for being a carrier of cystic fibrosis (CF). Now my husband has to go get tested to see if he is a CF carrier. My retest won’t take long, but his test takes about two weeks to run which means that we are getting pushed back yet again.

We originally thought we were going to do the May cycle with the clinic. Then we saw the list of bloodwork, and we decided it was best to wait for the results before registering for a cycle. Hello, June cycle! Now, with him having to get the CF test run, we are pushing things back to July.

Psalm 130:5

I know that this waiting is all part of God’s plan for this journey. I have come to terms with having one more month to wait in hopeful expectation (that’s not to say that I didn’t break down and cry in Jason’s arms last night when we were talking about it, because I definitely did).

I recently read, and wrote, Romans 5 for my bible study goal. It never fails that God makes sure that the right verses are at the forefront of my mind when I need them the most! All of the versions and translations are incredible, but as I was reading through them today to put the scripture below, the Message version summed up everything so perfectly!

There’s more to come: We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us, and how that patience in turn forges the tempered steel of virtue, keeping us alert for whatever God will do next. In alert expectancy such as this, we’re never left feeling shortchanged. Quite the contrary—we can’t round up enough containers to hold everything God generously pours into our lives through the Holy Spirit!” – Romans 5:3-5 (emphasis mine)

Now, I know that having to wait another month isn’t really a “trouble.” I’m not saying that at all. But, after waiting 8 years and finally having a husband who is on-board for doing IVF, it can sure feel like forever! But, I love, love, love how God used this scripture to calm my aching heart. He used it to remind me that He has a plan. He used it to cause me to hold on with an “alert expectancy” to what I have been praying for. He used it to hold me close in His arms and help me remember that He is in control!

One thought on “Waiting…Waiting…Waiting…

  1. Pingback: The Plan – Becoming A Florida Mama

Leave a Reply

