#NIAW

Infertility is becoming less of a “suffer in silence” type of problem thanks to social media and National Infertility Awareness Week (NIAW). But, unfortunately, that doesn’t change the numbers…

1 in 8 couples (or 12% of married women) have trouble getting pregnant or sustaining a pregnancy. (2006-2010 National Survey of Family Growth, CDC)Fast Facts About Infertility

What is infertility?

According to the Fast Facts About Infertility site referenced above, “Infertility is defined as the inability to conceive after one year of unprotected intercourse (six months if the woman is over age 35) or the inability to carry a pregnancy to live birth.”

What does it actually mean to deal with infertility?

Infertility is a medical condition. It can’t just be explained away by what we are or are not doing to try to have children. For us, we have been trying since 2008. Trust me when I tell you that if someone has written about it, suggested it, or even just mentioned it in passing, I have probably tried it! I have dieted, I have exercised, I have taken medications, I have charted my cycles, I have taken my temperature, I have done acupuncture, I have taken Chinese herbs, etc.

What do you do to deal with infertility?

Each month can feel like a fresh wave of grief. But, each new month is also a fresh start, a new beginning. Each new month holds a new hope for the future God has planned for us. We may be categorized as dealing with infertility, but that doesn’t mean that our journey is over. We stand firm on the belief that with God all things are possible!

So, for me, I deal with infertility by remembering to hope, by remembering to focus on the wonders that God has already given to us (relatives, jobs, dogs, etc.), by remembering to pray and spend time in His presence, and by remembering that even though it may be hard to accept sometimes, having children is NOT the only thing that will bring fulfillment.

I’ll just leave this ball of cuteness right here… ☺☺

18121645_2039560282938043_707977909621205824_o

What about when other people get pregnant?

Let me start by saying, no matter how you get there, pregnancies are gifts from God! I am truly, truly happy for whoever becomes pregnant…I would NEVER wish infertility on anyone. But, I do also get sad sometimes, because it reminds me that I am still in my waiting season. So, some days, I might not comment or seem as happy as I actually am for you because it is hard, and I don’t want to be pretending. Please accept my highs and lows and know that I am happy for you!

What about treatments?

This can be a very touchy area. So, really the only thing I want to say about it is my personal opinion on the matter which is that choosing whether or not to do fertility treatments is a personal decision that should be made by a husband and wife AS A TEAM! That’s it. End of story.

At the end of the day everyone’s journey is so different. Some people get pregnant right away, some don’t. It doesn’t change that we are all children of God and all loved by Him. I look forward to the day when I can claim 1 Samuel 1:27!

1 Samuel 1:27

Leave a Reply

