The Journey – Week 2

Last week, I started a journey. I don’t know exactly how long this journey will last, but I plan to be transparent throughout each moment.

Success

Goals From Week 1

Bible Study Goal

Complete the first 4 days of Faithful Workouts’ 40-Day Bible Reading Plan (Romans 5, Ephesians 3, Galatians 5, Romans 6)

How Did I Do?

I completed Day 1 – Romans 5 (Check out my thoughts here!) I also wrote out Day 2 – Ephesians 3, but I didn’t really STUDY it.

Eating Goal

Follow the guidelines for Phase 1 of the South Beach Diet by avoiding all sugars and eating lots of veggies and protein.

How Did I Do?

I did GREAT…for 3 days…but, I got BORED!!!! I want to blame this on lack of planning, or on anything else beside my lack of commitment…I really tried to have everything figured out ahead of time, but my plan didn’t carry me very far.

Exercise Goal

Spend 20 minutes each day walking

How Did I Do?

I walked around the mall one day. I climbed 8 flights of stairs (176 stairs!) after a fire drill at work another day. I also did some housework and helped Jason empty out a house that had been vacated. All good stuff, but not quite reaching my goal.


Needless to say, I didn’t actually reach any of my goals for week 1.

  • Does this mean that I am a failure?
    • NO! Though I did think it once or twice!
  • Does this mean I should just give up on setting goals and live how I’ve been living up to this point?
  • Does this mean I can’t try again?
    • ABSOLUTELY NOT! There is nothing preventing me from resetting and using these goals for this week!

So, what does it mean?

It means that I can pick myself up, dust myself off, and try again!

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” – Galatians 6:9

It means that I have learned from my past mistakes!

“As a dog returns to his own vomit, so a fool repeats his folly.” – Proverbs 26:11

It means that I have grown stronger through these struggles!

“But He [the Lord] said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” – 2 Corinthians 12:9

Goals For Week 2

Bible Study Goal

Complete days 2-4 of Faithful Workouts’ 40-Day Bible Reading Plan:

  • Day 2 – Ephesians 3
  • Day 3 – Galatians 5
  • Day 4 – Romans 6

Eating Goal

Follow majority of the guidelines for Phase 1 of the South Beach Diet by avoiding sugars and eating lots of veggies and protein. The main problem I faced last week was simply getting bored with eating salad EVERY SINGLE DAY!! This week I want to focus on having different vegetables with my meals. I have also decided to not exclude fruit to allow myself a little variety. I’m still going to avoid things like fruit juices and processed fruits, though.

Exercise Goal

Spend 20 minutes each day walking.

One thought on “The Journey – Week 2

  1. Pingback: The Journey – Week 7 – Becoming A Florida Mama

Leave a Reply

