The Journey – Week 1

GoalsRecently I shared that I have made a decision to start helping myself feel better each day by focusing on God, eating healthier foods, and moving more. I really believe that this time is going to be different than the past, I don’t know, 100 times that I’ve tried to do something similar because my focus isn’t on losing weight, it isn’t on watching the numbers change on the scale or my pant size. My focus is on God and my future children. My focus is on getting healthy instead of on trying to fit into society’s mold of what I should look like. So, to jump right in, here is my plan for this week (sorry it’s a couple days late!)

Bible Study:

I was looking over some different bible studies to start, and I have changed my mind probably 10 times just since starting to write this post. I started out thinking about going through a couple different studies on RightNow Media, then I went to LoveGodGreatly.com, but I think I have finally decided what I want to do. Instead of picking a topical study or a study on any one specific book in the Bible, I have decided to do a Bible writing challenge instead. I have started working my way through Faithful Workouts’ 40-Day Bible Reading Plan. Instead of just reading through the chapters they have listed, though, I plan to write out each chapter and then add a personal touch at the end of each one (this might be a word study or a summary or just something that I felt God impressing on me as I was working through the chapter).

Now, I am a firm believer is setting specific, measurable goals for things (maybe it’s the former teacher in me!) because it helps hold me accountable and makes everything a lot more tangible to me. That being said, my bible study goal for this week is to complete the first 4 days of the study:

  • Day 1 – Romans 5
  • Day 2 – Ephesians 3
  • Day 3 – Galatians 5
  • Day 4 – Romans 6

Study and do your best to present yourself to God approved, a workman [tested by trial] who has no reason to be ashamed, accurately handling and skillfully teaching the word of truth” – 2 Timothy 2:15 (AMP)

Food:

Having PCOS sometimes makes it difficult to lose weight. I have done a lot of research into what has worked for other women with it, and I have found some consistencies. The biggest one is that simple carbohydrates (meaning sugar, white bread, white potatoes, pasta, etc.) are the main culprit hindering weight loss. So, after doing some digging, I have decided to start using the South Beach Diet as my guide. This diet promotes diversity in eating choices, which I NEED because I get so bored so quickly when it comes to food! It also focuses on cutting out all the “bad” carbs. The basic plan is a 3 phase process:

  1. Phase 1 lasts two weeks – during this phase you cut out fruit, certain vegetables, and all starches (even whole grains).
  2. Phase 2 lasts until you get to your goal weight – during this phase, you slowly start adding things back in to your diet. You start including fruits, the vegetables you cut out in Phase 1, and some of the “good” carbs (sweet potatoes, whole grain bread, etc.)
  3. Phase 3 is your maintenance phase and is meant to become your new standard for eating. You pretty much have free reign to eat what you choose, but keeping in mind the idea of having “good” carbs instead of “bad” carbs and practicing moderation in all areas.

But, this is just a VERY brief overview! To learn more about it, check out South Beach Diet’s official site. I know that one size does not fit all, and I am NOT trying to promote this diet or saying that you should go on it. I’m definitely not a doctor, and you should check with yours before starting any new diet or exercise plan. I’m trying it for me because the goals I have line up with the principles so I’m hoping that having the specific details of the plan will help me stay on course.

So, I started following the Phase 1 plan yesterday, and I know this next two weeks is going to be tough, but I just keep telling myself, “It’s only two weeks! It’s only two weeks!” So, to keep with the pattern, my eating goal for this week is to follow the guidelines for Phase 1 of the South Beach Diet by avoiding all sugars and eating lots of veggies and protein.

“You are what you eat – so don’t be fast, cheap, easy, or fake.” – Unknown

Exercise:

This is probably the hardest area for me. I have an extremely hard time motivating myself to START exercising. When I do go to the gym, once I’m there I’m fine. I enjoy my time there. But, getting there is the battle! I have a membership to Planet Fitness, and since the beginning of this year, I have gone to the gym 3 times. 3 TIMES!? Seriously!? I so hoped it was more than that, but not so much! I have worked out a couple times at home, but not enough to feel any better about the number, that’s for sure! So………

My exercise goal for this week is to spend 20 minutes each day walking. I know that doesn’t seem like much, but I obviously don’t currently do any consistent exercising so I figure it’s a good start!

“Walking is the best possible exercise. Habituate yourself to walk very far.” – Thomas Jefferson

So, there it is…my plan. Are you on a journey, too? What’s your plan?

One thought on “The Journey – Week 1

  1. Pingback: The Journey – Week 2 – Becoming A Florida Mama

Leave a Reply

