A Decision Is Made

Have you ever sat down and made plans to eat better or exercise (or both!)? I have probably done this more than 30 times over the past 10 years…and what do I have to show for it? A lot of knowledge about what I should do, with no results.

“Knowledge is of no value unless you put it into practice.” – Anton Chekhov

On a positive note, unless I start making major life changes, I seem to have “topped out” in my weight…at least I don’t seem to be gaining anymore…but that just isn’t good enough!

So, this time I’m going to make it stick! Why will this time work? Because my focus, my determination, my purpose has changed!

First and foremost, I am working on keeping my eyes on Jesus instead of on the mirror. Yes, the mirror still exists, but it’s no longer going to be the thing I use to judge my success or failure.

Psalm 16:8

Second, I am no longer looking to make these changes just for me. I want to be an example of having a positive relationship with food and with my body for my kids. This part is becoming more and more concrete as we solidify our next steps in relation to starting a family.

A (very condensed) background in the journey God has us on. In 2009 I was diagnosed with PCOS. If you’ve never heard of this, it is a disorder where a woman’s hormones are off which can cause things like acne, facial hair, and, most importantly to my situation and this post, inconsistent ovulation. If you are interested, you can read more about it here. Since then, we have gone through some fertility treatments and recently decided to take the next step in this journey…IVF. We’ve gotten to the point in our journey where things are really looking positive. I am believing again that it is really possible for us to have kids. That being said, it’s becoming oh so evident that I have some habits that need to change if I want to set a good example for those future kids.

So all that to say that TODAY is the first day of the newest leg of this voyage of life. TODAY is the day that I have made the decision to change, and I’m not looking back! I know it’s cliche, but TODAY is the first day of the rest of my life!

Will you join me? I’ll be starting my journey this coming Monday. I plan to post along the way, including my bible study plans, meal plans, and exercise plans. I will be candidly sharing the ups and downs, the highs and lows, the successes and failures. Because what better way to travel this road than with a huge dose of honesty and self-reflection!?!

3 thoughts on “A Decision Is Made

  1. Pingback: The Journey – Week 1 – Becoming A Florida Mama

  2. Pingback: The Journey – Week 2 – Becoming A Florida Mama

  3. Pingback: The Journey – Week 7 – Becoming A Florida Mama

Leave a Reply

