Searching

Through the years I have wasted so much time searching…

…searching for the “right” career

…searching for the “right” man to be my husband

…searching for the “right” church

…searching for the “right” bible translation

…searching for the “right” bible study

…searching for the “right” way to be happy

When all along it was all right in front of me, in God’s Word! Every answer I was searching for could be found by spending time reading my bible…I just had to sit down, be still, and DO IT!

I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me. Proverbs 8:17

I had to accept that seeking God needed to become my first priority. I had to learn what is actually meant, what it looked like, to seek His presence. I had to come to terms with the reality that His will does not always line up with my plans, but it WILL ALWAYS be so much better if I will just GET OUT OF HIS WAY!! I got to see what even though spending time with Him might hurt my ego at times, that correction from God is what can get me moving in the right direction again.

All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.2 Timothy 3:16-17 (NIV)

These revelations initially came through one of the more recent studies that I worked through. It was called “Walking in Wisdom” and was created by the beautiful ladies over at Love God Greatly. This study focused on the TRUTH that God is the source of all Wisdom. Among so many other things, I learned that “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge…” (Proverbs 1:7) so I have to be sure that I am starting with God and going from there instead of seeing Him as my last resort when all else has failed.


Have you ever felt like God was just reaching out to you when you least expected it in a way that lets you know what you have been thinking and feeling are on track with His plan? I felt that this morning. I started writing this post about a week ago and this morning felt the push to start listening to a bible study on RightNow Media called Teach Us To Want by Jen Pollock Michel which focuses on all the same things that I’ve listed above. Here’s an excerpt from the study description:

We all want things: certain relationships, just the right job, affirmation from others, a life full of passion and purpose. Contemporary culture says to go after desire, pursue your “I want” list ruthlessly. Christianity seems to send a different message: Wanting is sinful and selfish. Faith is about obedience and sacrifice.

How do we reconcile the longings in our hearts with the God we’re called to follow?

It felt like God saying, “Here, let Me help you get a better understanding of HOW TO focus on Me!”

I’d love to hear from you about a moment when God reached out to help you know you were moving in the right direction!

Leave a Reply

