Me…Him…Us

I never really thought about having a blog, but I’ve been thinking a lot about it lately. Not as a means to get people to read about me, or as a way to tell the world private details of my life…though both of these things may happen. But thinking more about it as a way to reach out and share with someone who needs to hear something like “You aren’t alone.” or “You can come through this.” Before I can venture down that part of this path, I feel like I first need to lay the foundation. So, this is how “I” became “US”…

Jason and I met a bit unconventionally. Yes, we met online, but not using one of those fancy schmancy dating sites that are all over the place these days…we met in a Yahoo chat room back in 2002. I had just finished my first semester in college at Florida State University and was spending winter break at home with my family. Since Facebook and Smartphones were still just a glint in the eyes of their creators (or were their creators even out of school yet?), I was spending my “downtime” on our family computer scouring the chat rooms for someone interesting to talk to. At the time, the pick-up line of choice as A/S/L (which stood for Age/Sex/Location), so those were the first words he ever spoke to me…romantic, I know!

…fast forward 2 weeks…

I’m back in Tallahassee and make the (young, foolish) decision to head over to Jason’s house to meet him for the first time. We were pretty much inseparable from this point on.

firstphoto
Our first picture together!

Our first “official” date was the next day – lunch at Village Inn, and I met his parents one day later! We got engaged on our 6-month anniversary and had a beautiful, fun wedding 2 years later – June 17, 2006.

our wedding photo

Through the years we have had our ups and downs – from traveling to Europe and going on cruises to dealing with pain and loss. But, through it all, God has seen us through and helped build us stronger in spite of the trials.

Our favorite things to do together as a couple are cooking, traveling, and binge watching TV shows!

I know it’s cliché, but I feel like one of the best statements to describe us is “we may not have it all together, but together we have it all”! I am so thankful to have Jason in my life and couldn’t imagine a better person to walk beside me through this journey!

So, that’s a little about me. Now I’d love to learn a little about you.

Where are you from?

Who do you live with?

What do you love?

What makes you feel loved?

Leave a Reply

